Swainsboro First United Methodist Church was founded in 1863. Worship was held at Clark’s Chapel, the Old Academy located at the corner of North Main and Church Streets, and in various homes of congregation members. The first church building was built in 1875 on land donated by J. J. Moring.

In 1896 a new church building was built on the northwest corner at the intersection of Church and Green Streets. The church was enlarged and improved in 1911, and under the leadership of the Reverend Charles G. Earnest, a new sanctuary was built in 1937 on the same site.

First Methodist grew and on February 16. 1956, ground-breaking ceremonies were held for a new building on West Main Street. The land for the new building was donated by Mrs. Frank Mitchell in memory of her late son, John Coleman Mitchell. The first sermon was preached in the new church building on June 2, 1957. An additional wing was added to the structure and was dedicated on January 17, 1965. In 1993 the sanctuary was remodeled and a pipe organ was installed.

Previous Pastors

IMG_9773editc5l-400IMG_9772editc5l-400IMG_9771editc5l-400IMG_9770pastors editc5l-400IMG_9774editc5l-400
IMG_9775pastors editc5l-400

1860, 1863 R. N. Cottor 1911-12 J. W. Domingos
1861-62 J. V. M. Morris 1912-15 J. M. Peacock
1864-65 Wesley Lane 1915-16 R. E. Bailey
1866-67 Levi P. Neese 1916-18 Q. L. Kelly
1868 J. D. Mauldin 1921-25 W. A. Tyson
1869 Norman D. Morehouse 1925-26 T. G. Christian
1870-71 Robert F. Evans 1926-29 K. H. McGregor
1872 Charles T. Toole 1929-31 O. S. Wilson
1873 Daniel G. Pope 1931-33 R. L. Whitehead
1874 T. R. Wave 1933-35 C. A. Jackson
1875-76, 1883-85 C. A. Moore 1935-38 C. G. Earnest
1877 T. T. Giles 1938-43 Earl T. Garbutt
1878 T. L. Williams 1943-47 H. C. Griffin
1879-81 W. F. Roberts 1947-52 H. S. Brooks
1882 Joseph O. Langston 1952-57 Vernard Robertson
1886 Carnie H. Carson 1957-58 W. A. Alsobrook
1887-89 F. W. Flanders 1958-60 M. P. Webb
1890 C. T. Clark 1960-63 Pledger M. Parker
1891 T. C. G. Raburn 1963-68 Elick Bullington
1892 H. C. Fenress 1968-72 Orman Sloat
1893 T. F. Carvil 1972-76 Donald J. Sparks
1893 E. M. Wright 1976-81 Frank J. Terry
1894-98, 1918-21 J. M. Foster 1981-85 Ed Cadle
1898-1900 T. G. Harrison 1985-89 Dave Hanson
1900-01 T. H. Darley 1989-93 Frank Harris
1901-03 B. S. Sentell 1993-1999 Ronnie Wills
1903-04 W. L. Wooten 1999-2003 C. Benjamin (Benjy) Varnell
1904-06 J. W. Weston 2003-2009 Wayne DeFore
1906-07 H. P. Myers 2009-2013 Reverend Dr. William E. Woodson III
1907-10 J. T. Ryder 2013-2017 Scott Brenton
1910-11 B. E. Whittington